Girl Scout Camp: Treasured Moments with our Caroline

Caroline again participated in Girl Scout Day Camp at Camp Phillipo. I got to chaperone TWO of the three days this year!

Through the stifling heat and breathless humidity, a bit of rain, a bus that didn’t start, girls who got ill and

Ranch dressing dispenser that didn’t, well, dispense…

I was proud to see Cara and her fellow scouts truly living the Girl Scout Promise and Law.

(That, and singing Camp Songs at the top of their lungs. Way to go, girls!

A few verses in your beautiful voices are still lodged in my brain.)

The Girl Scout Promise

On my honor,

I will try:

To serve God and my country,

More days ought to start with a flag-raising ceremony.

To help people at all times,

First Aid

And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

“The Emmas,” part of C’s Troop. Smart, lively young ladies!

The Girl Scout Law

I will do my best to be

honest and fair,

friendly and helpful,

considerate and caring,

courageous and strong,

“Look sad, mom. I just splinted your broken leg.”

and responsible for what I say and do,

and to

respect myself and others,

respect authority,

use resources wisely,

make the world a better place, and

be a sister to every Girl Scout.

‘Sounds like good words to live by to me. Thanks for letting me tag along, little Cara. It meant more to me than you can ever know.

“Mom, ‘member that money I saved for the Girl Scout Camp Store?
I spent it.”
Best. Award. Ever.
Leave a Reply

