St. Patrick’s Day Sleigh Ride – Big Sky, MT

The area in and around Big Sky, Montana, is a magical place for our entire (and I mean extended!) family. One of the most memorable evenings is at Lone Mountain Ranch for their Sleigh Ride. Years ago, Greg’s brother Curt proposed to his now wife on the sleigh ride! This year didn’t top that event, but it was filled with wonderful moments…

Our Maître d’

We were greeted by Wayne, the resident dog (don’t tell him that), who took his maître d’ responsibilities VERY seriously. He politely welcomed each of us individually, accepted some ear rubs, then ushered the kids over to his draft horses (I believe the beautiful Belgian draft horses belong to the Ranch, but don’t tell Wayne that).

wayne

Beautiful (and flirty!) horsepower

We met the gorgeous horses who would pull our sleigh up the mountain for our dinner … and get us back home.

IMG_3125

IMG_3129

He said, "Kiss me, I'm Irish." It was St. Patrick's Day! (But I'm certain I heard he's Belgian...)
He said, “Kiss me, I’m Irish.” It was St. Patrick’s Day! (But I’m certain I heard he’s Belgian…)

Wine-ohs

My sis-in-law Janelle and I had time for a little wine (don’t we always?!) before we snuggled into our sleighs.

wine-ohs

Seated and snuggled under thick wool blankies!
Seated and snuggled under thick wool blankies!

Of course the horses wear sleigh bells, so we jingled our way up, with a few stops for them to rest.

IMG_3136

Just a not-so-little reminder of why this is called Big Sky!
Just a not-so-little reminder of why this specially blessed area of God’s World is dubbed ‘Big Sky!’

Candlelight makes everything better

Then, we arrived at the rustic (not electricity, no plumbing, no gas) North Fork Cabin.

northfork_1

IMG_3146

wine-by-candlelight

Inside, a Prime Rib dinner with entertainment by Bruce Anfinson, his guitar, and his delightful songs about Charlie Russell, huckleberries, home-grown tomatoes and the state he so adores: Montana.

bruce

Our group settled in for the amazing family-style meal of locally grown delicacies….mmmm….

IMG_3142

IMG_3141

Cheers! Greg and I first came to the sleigh ride in March 1997. Comforting that even though so much as changed since then ... the really core things have stayed steady. Love you, sweetie.
Cheers! Greg and I first came to the sleigh ride in March 1997. Comforting that even though so much as changed since then … the really core things have stayed steady. Love you, sweetie.

My favorite, of course, the fresh Montana blueberry cobbler with hand-whipped whipped cream. Enjoyed with people I so adore and appreciate, while a great musician sang and strummed. Did I mention Montana is a magical place?

cobbler

Too soon–yet just right–it was time to board our sleighs for the moonlit ride back down the mountain.

stars

And that, my friends, is how you celebrate the magic of Montana. Sweet dreams guaranteed!

Leave a Reply

