“A few” is not 100? My sweetie’s surprise birthday party.

“So how many people will be here?” my husband asked, mid-stride. He thought we were meeting two other couples for dinner, but he was leery. “A few,” I lied. 100+ family members and friends isn’t a few?

But we sure had fun! And I so loved watching him smile and laugh. Happy Birthday, darlin’. Happy Birthday.

Birthday Boy Greg in the center, with his bro Curt on the left and cousin Dale on the right. Both came from Fargo.
Birthday Boy Greg in the center, with his bro Curt on the left and cousin Dale on the right. Both came from Fargo.

It started with one

“Everyone ought to throw their husband a surprise party,” said the lady next to me in bike class. That was 3 years ago. She was a new member, we started chatting, and I learned she had just buried her husband. At age 48. She was at the health club to ‘get healthy,’ and she told me her biggest regret was never throwing her husband a surprise party.

That sparked an idea. So I started saving $ and planning.

By early this year, I had The Chart House booked. Classic, beautiful venue right here in Lakeville. It overlooks one of the lakes with a great restaurant and private event area, including an outdoor patio and gazebo area. I selected the menu. Picked the beer. Let them pick the wines.

Takes two to decorate

I enlisted my friend Penny to help with decorations. They were gorgeous, just like her!

Multiplying rapidly

Then I did the evite invitation. I contemplated limiting the guest list, but just couldn’t. Greg has so many great family members and colleagues, neighbors and friends. I added on with glee! I think the final guest list was 186.

evite

Spill

I did have to spill the news to our kiddos a bit before the big day. They were fun allies in our secret!

Matt: “Dad’s gonna be mad. He said he didn’t want anything.”

Cara: “oooooh, I can’t WAIT!”

Julia (when I had to give up my Sequoia to the shop for a few ill-timed days): “How you gonna move 98 balloons in the little car, mom?” #wickedsmile

Our kids were great hostesses and host!
Our kids were great hostesses and host!

The most important guest almost didn’t go

Weeks before, Greg was balking at meeting our friends for dinner. Days before, he was leery. Hours before, he was really suspicious! Apparently his parents are lousy liars.

But he did. And so did so many wonderful people. Thanks, all.

Our girls delivered his cake.
Our girls delivered his cake.

IMG_5691

 

Lemon-filled, red velvet, vanilla bean and milk chocolate cupcakes! (his faves)
Lemon-filled, red velvet, vanilla bean and milk chocolate cupcakes! (his faves)

See? I told you Penny’s decor was beautiful:

Hockey pucks, of course.
Hockey pucks, of course.

IMG_5706

IMG_5715

Wonderfalls centerpieces. Each was a candy-filled favor.
Wonderfalls centerpieces. Each was a candy-filled favor.

IMG_5712

me and g

I ran into the health club lady a few months ago and told her how her comment had impacted me. She hugged me and said, “Honey, it’s a lot more fun to plan a surprise party than a funeral. I hope hundreds of people come!”

They did, I can now tell her. They did. And my favorite one of all had fun. #Love

 

2 thoughts on ““A few” is not 100? My sweetie’s surprise birthday party.

  1. Wonderfalls centerpieces – and I received one. What a glorious celebration filled with joy and love and excitement and pleasure among terrific people.

Leave a Reply

